Mrs. Victoria Gao-Chinese Class: 1A/1B

Hello My Name Is...

<Victoria Gao>

Hello, Welcome to Mrs. Gao's Chinese 1A & 1B classes. Thank you for your interest in learning Chinese language and culture with me.  
 Rest assured that I am committed to do everything I can to make Chinese very easy for you to learn, understand and use, in terms of listening, speaking, reading and writing. While teaching you lots of authentic Chinese, I will make it fun, enjoyable and low stress too. I will collaborate with you in every possible way to make you be successful in Chinese learning to the best of your ability no matter what your learning style, learning ability, or entrance level is.   If you have any questions or concerns, please feel free to contact me via email at 

A bit information about me: I was born and raised in Northeastern part of China where Mandarin Chinese (standard Chinese) is based.  In 1979, at the age of 17, I went to Shanghai International Studies University, China, for college education.  I received my B.A. degree in English in 1983 and started to work as a copy editor for Chinese Medical Journal English Edition at Chinese Medical Association in Beijing. In 1984, I was married and In 1985, my husband and I came to the U.S. to pursue our graduate studies.  I received my M.A. degree from Baylor University (Waco, Texas) in 1987 and started to work as a travel agent. Then in 1992, I joined American Express Company as a group travel specialist. After moving to Colorado in 1998, I worked as a realtor from 1999 to 2006.  Then I went to Metropolitan State University of Denver to get my teacher license and I have been teaching Chinese in public schools since 2008. I love teaching Chinese.  To me, it's a passion, not merely a job.

My husband is a retired computer software engineer.  We have two children: My son, born 1990 and daughter, born 1993, both graduated from University of  Colorado at Boulder, both were on 4-year ROTC full scholarships, both are reserved Army Officers and both are employees for the State of Colorado.  

I enjoy cooking and traveling. Every summer, I spend two months in Europe and have first hand experience with the importance of World Languages. I also enjoy exercising and staying healthy by going to the gym or doing outdoor activities. I enjoy spending time with my family. We lived 5 years in Dallas TX (1985-90), 3 in Milwaukee WI (1990-93), 5 in Atlanta GA (93-98) and since 1998, we've been living in Colorado.